Lady Sylvanas’ Bow Guide

Here is a quick guide/ tutorial/wip gallery for the bow I made to go with my Lady Sylvanas costume. Maybe it can help someone with ideas for their own cosplays. I made this in just under a week with limited suppies. Forgive me for the poor quality pictures, I took them all with my phone.

Materials:

-Bow Base

-Paperclay

-Worbla

-Foam, 1mm, 5mm, thick foam mats

-Acrylic paint and paint brushes

-Hot glue

-Heat gun

Process:

So first you need a space to work. Here’s my work bench! I didn’t have any time to clean it up so all my work was done on that itty bitty corner there. I also have my Sylvanas statue for reference. Sitting on  the edge of the table is the base I used for the bow. Its a plastic toy bow I bought from a Spirit Halloween store.

IMG_1700

Using the 5mm foam I cut out the shape of the arm guard… thing.

IMG_1701

Added details with more 5mm foam

IMG_1702

I covered this shape with Worbla. To do this I traced the foam onto the worbla and cut it out about .5 – 1 inch around the edge. Starting from the middle and moving out towards the edges, I used the heat gun to heat the worbla and form it over the foam. I also used some sculpting tools to press the worbla down around the details.

IMG_1703

IMG_1704

Be careful with the worbla! When heated, especially when its heated too much too quick, it can rip like this:

IMG_1706

After forming the worbla over the shape I used an exacto knife to cut off the excess.

IMG_1707 IMG_1708 IMG_1709

Using thick foam mats I cut out this weird shape for the bottom of the bow.

IMG_1710

Added details with thin foam:

IMG_1712

Sandwhiched the shape between two sheets of worbla

IMG_1713 IMG_1714

Pinch the edges together

IMG_1715

Push the worbla into place with sculpting tools

IMG_1717

Cut with the exacto knife

IMG_1718

Tada!

IMG_1716

I had some spare wonderflex that I was never gonna use so I decided to finish up the rest here. Same technique as the worbla. I cut out four of these shapes and used them to attach the piece made in previous steps to the bow base.

IMG_1720 IMG_1721

Back to the worbla

IMG_1723

Since the bow base didn’t have the right shape, I cut off the ends, turned them around, and hot glued them back on to adjust the overall curve of the bow.

IMG_1724

To hide the seam I curled the shape over the bow

IMG_1725

Using Paperclay I filled in the gaps and hid the ugly seams and mistakes

IMG_1726 IMG_1727

The final product before painting

IMG_1728

I don’t have any progress of the painting itself (I rushed it all during a D&D session!) but here is the final final product (No string on the bow cause the conventions don’t usually allow them)

IMG_1736[1]

DSC_0858

As always, if you have any questions feel free to ask!

Leave a Reply

