Lady Sylvanas Armor Progress

Just wanted to post a quick update with what I have of Lady Sylvanas’ armor.

Fullset:DSC_0378

Shoulder armor, missing skulls and feathers:

DSC_0380

Bracers:

DSC_0381

Breastplate:DSC_0382

Upper Thigh Armor:DSC_0383

Calf Armor:DSC_0384

Published by:

Frekki

My name is Jessica Schultz and I'm a fun loving gamer with a passion for art, costuming, writing, and all things nerdy. During the week I am a game artist, and during the weekends I try to keep up with my costuming and writing. I always have a cosplay project to keep me busy until the next convention. I love helping other artists so if you have any questions at all feel free to ask!

Tags , , , , , 8 Comments

8 thoughts on “Lady Sylvanas Armor Progress”

  1. Looks amazing, I was just wondering what the green gem is made out of, and if your using led’s to light them up?

    1. Thanks! The gems are very simple, they are made from Easy Cast (resin basically) poured into a paint tray. I wish I could light them with leds, that would be sooo cool! But I have never worked with lights aside from EL Wire.

  2. I was wondering about the silver details,did you shade it with a kind of tegnique? And how did you figure out the lightsource? I heard most people use a dry brush method.

    1. The silver details are basically enhanced by using black paint to trace along the edges. And yes, the technique is dry brush. I basically take a dry brush (hence the name I guess haha) dip it in some paint, then run it over the edges of the armor in a very mean fashion. My paint brushes don’t last long because I kind of smash them into the armor and vigorously rub them along the armor edges. I don’t think of a light source so much as I shade the areas where shadows would naturally fall, like cracks and crevices. I also use a wide, flat brush with a small amount of black paint and kinda… whisk it up from the edges to create a dirty kind of texture that can be seen around the inside of curves. For highlights I use a lighter silver paint and lightly brush it across the top. For extra highlight I use just a small amount of white and dab it at the very peak of the raised details. I use the while sparingly and usually only dab it in a few places. I also use it to outline any cracks I cut into the armor. Hope this helps and let me know if you have any further questions!!

  3. I’m struggling keeping the thigh armor up when I walk…Is there any way it could stay in place? :o

    1. I had that issue too and still haven’t found a great way to keep them in place. Magnets didn’t work, the armor was too heavy. Velcro kinda worked, but it pulled at the tights. Eventually I opted to use a strip of black nylon (like the stuff backpack straps are made of) attached to the belt going down to the top of the armor. There are also adjustable straps that cirle around my thigh. They help keep the armor in place rotation-wise, but not necessarily up when I walk.

  4. I know this is super, super late and such, but would you possibly have a template for the shoulder armor? I’ve been trying forever to get mine right and it won’t work. :(

    1. I don’t have an exact template but I sketched out a quick guide for the basic shape I used for the shoulders. I cut these shapes out from thin craft foam. The triangular cut in the top piece is glued together to give it some curve (Basically where it sits on the top of the shoulder, to where it starts to go down the arm.) The cut at the top might need some adjustment to get the proper shape though so start out with it small and thin and cut it larger as needed. After that was in place, I covered it with worbla and while still warm curved that slightly around my arm. I hope that makes sense! Let me know if you have further questions :)

      (Hopefully this link works)

Leave a Reply

