Long Beach Comic Expo-Con Review and Cosplay Gallery

Last weekend was my first time attending Long Beach Comic Expo. From what I gathered on the website, it seemed to be run by the same people as Long Beach Comic Con. I figured it was the same convention by a different name. As per usual, my group ended up leaving a little late. By now its become tradition to leave almost exactly an hour after the estimated departure time. (A side note, its also tradition to head to Juice It Up before every convention, it’s loads of fun to see the workers’ reactions!). The drive was a little hectic, I can’t really say I liked the area we drove through to get there. The immediate area around the convention center is relatively clean, but some of the other parts of the city… well let’s just say it’s not exactly what I am used to in my prim and proper little suburban neighborhood. The pedestrians in the street made me nervous, the cyclists were reckless, and the other drivers were impatient.

Once we got to the convention center, we found out that there were at least two other events going on. Outside were the usual awesome cars, cosplayers, and bewildered bystanders. The expo was held upstairs, in a room much smaller than the one used by long Beach Comic Con the year before. We saw everything inside within an hour or two. There were the usual vendors and some awesome artists. It was great fun for a little while, but as my group and I were browsing we saw a woman crying. From what I heard later on, she was one of the vendors and someone stole her money. I’m not sure what kind of shitty person would do that, but I hope karma bites them in the butt.

Since the exhibit hall was so small we spent most of our time outside and downstairs taking pictures and getting pictures taken. In all, the con was pretty fun. I am glad I didn’t have to drive or pay for a ticket (yay professional pass!) It’s a great little con for cosplayers and anyone local, but it’s not something I would suggest driving more than an hour to attend.

Well the review is over so now it’s time for everyone’s favorite part… the pictures!!

 

Outside were a couple of amazing custom cars. This is the highly detailed inside of the Pizza Planet Truck:

DSCN0233

DSCN0232

 

Harry Potter Group:

DSCN0226

 

Elsa and Ana- FrozenDSCN0224

DSCN0220

 

 

 

DSCN0217

Misty-Pokemon

DSCN0210

 

Wicked Witch- Wizard of Oz

DSCN0208

DSCN0209

 

Nidalee- League of Legends

DSCN0102

DSCN0101

 

Sauron and zombie hobbit- Lord of the RingsDSCN0100

DSCN0099

Bebop and Rocksteady- Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

DSCN0098

DSCN0097

 

DSCN0078

 

Lady Sylvanas- World of Warcraft

DSCN0075

DSCN0074

 

Harley Quinn and Jokers- Batman

DSCN0070

 

Harley Quinn- Batman

DSCN0243

 

Harley and Harley + Joker Car

DSCN0230

 

And so concludes my little cosplay gallery from LBCE. I seriously thought we took more pictures than this. Ah, maybe next time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

