Anime Expo 2013: Thresh Debut

Before I post some the pictures I found around the internet of my cosplay, I wanted to talk about something else that has been on my mind since yesterday. I would assume most of the people who visit my blog find their way here because of thier interest in cosplay or costume design so I am sure I’m preaching to the choir here. But a few days ago I found a picture on someone’s facebook of my Thresh cosplay at Anime Expo. Out of curiosity I read through some of the comments and I was shocked to see how negative a good portion of them were. Now, I know not everyone’s gonna love the work I do. That’s to be expected since art is a subjective thing. As an artist I am accustomed to critique. If someone has a suggestion to make my art better or to help me improve, I’d love to hear it! So long as it’s done in a professional and friendly manner. Hearing, or rather in this case reading, people say things like “That Thresh sucks” or “Thresh 0/10” really cuts deep. And I’m not the only one these people insulted and hurt. I was posing with two other cosplayers in the picture and not only were they attacked for their costumes, they were harassed for their body type as well. Calling someone “fat” behind the anonymity of a screen is never cool. If someone doesn’t like my costume or my work then fine, they are welcome and entitled to have their own opinions. But it is unacceptable to personally attack me or any other cosplayer for their work. What I don’t understand is why people like that think its okay to say these things. Why can’t they keep their negative thoughts to themselves? I wish there was a way to stand up to this, but sadly there really isn’t anything I can do over the internet. Not one of them would have the gall to approach me and tell me that to my face if they’d seen me in real life. Cosplay is a fun hobby for everyone regardless of artistic skill level, race, gender, age, appearance, whatever. No one should be shamed for these things. Ever. To all the people who think it’s okay to write up such things all I have to say is, grow up and find another outlet for your misguided aggression.

That being said, there were also a number of people with very supportive comments and I want to thank them for their kind words that really brightened my day. I love making people happy when they see my costumes. I love seeing their faces light up as the recognize a character. That’s one of the most rewarding experiences of going out in costume. Oh, and did I mention I briefly met the guy who did the  Thresh splash art? Yeah, he loved the costume! I also got a code for Arcade Sona.

Sorry for the rant, but it was something I had to get out there. Moral of the story is, if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

Anyways, without further ado, here’s Thresh!!

These were taken by Casey Kwock- http://caseykwockart.viewbook.com/

casey1

casey2

casey3

casey4

casey5

casey6

casey7

This one came from Digitallee over on DeviantArt- http://digitallee.deviantart.com/

ax_2013___44_by_digitallee-d6cr27d

There were taken by my own camera. All of the cosplayer I got pictures with were so nice! Everyone was super excited to see my cosplay and they all did wonderful work of their own! Sadly though… most of these pictures came out blurry.

DSCN7911

DSCN7923

DSCN8023

DSCN8029

DSCN8046

DSCN8055

DSCN8075

DSCN8080

DSCN8081

DSCN8087

IMG_0225

In all Thresh went over really well. The shoes (for once) didn’t give me blisters and were pretty comfortable. The biggest issue was the heavy coat which weighed down on my shoulders and made me feel like I’d been lifting weights all day. Even though I made the lantern and scythe as light as possible, by the end of the day my arms were shaking trying to hold them up. I know, I know, I’m a wimp! If anyone sees themselves pictured above, let me know and I can post a link to any websites or galleries you guys might have! Thanks everyone who made this years Anime Expo one to remember.

<3

Until next time…

14 thoughts on “Anime Expo 2013: Thresh Debut”

  1. You know, it takes a lot of guts to put yourself out there and it sucks when someone takes advantage of that and takes a potshot. I was unfamiliar with the character when I first looked over your pictures but I could tell how much work went into your cosplay and I thought the detailing was excellent! Then I pulled up a few reference pictures and now I really have to say that I love how you interpreted the energy that suspends the face plate and horns – what a challenge! I think it was a creative solution that was executed really well and I hope you’re super proud of it – you should be!

  2. I thought it looked badass, don’t let idiots insult you, Thresh was a really hard cosplay pick, and it turned out good.

  3. I don’t understand what people’s issues are. Your costume is amazing!!! It’s inspired me to try and tackle this costume, which I previously wouldn’t have had the guts to try. So thank you for that!

    1. That’s awesome :D You’ll have to send me pictures when you are done! I love League cosplays (especially Thresh because THRESH!)

      1. Hey Frekki!

        Just wanted to tell you that I managed to put together a decent Thresh cosplay, having used your posts here as a makeshift guide for me. There’s lots of improvements I want to make on what I’ve got thus far, but anyway, here it is:

      2. I do not, I don’t cosplay nearly enough yet to make one. Perhaps in the future I will though, once I’ve got more cosplays under my belt, and the quality of them is up to my standard lol

  4. Some of the pictures show it of better than others, but all in all it looks awesome! Much better than my Thresh ;)
    Anyone brave enough to try a character like Thresh has my respect and seeing yours has given me some ideas for when I remake my one so thanks for that too :)

  5. I was doing thresh cosplay but… the mask is hard to me. I cant imagine the rest.
    You are my idol xD

Leave a Reply

