Anime Expo 2013 Recap

This year’s Anime Expo was quite a roller coaster for me. One day one my group and I, consisting of my boyfriend Alex, My sister Amy, my best friend Roseanne, and her boyfriend Sean, headed out early with our costumes. When we got there it was pretty hot outside. Despite getting there early we didn’t get the best of parking. It was close, but not ideal. After my sister and I suited up we wandered over to the pre-registration line, taking pictures as we went. The line wrapped all the way around the building and zigzagged many times in between. Most of it was in the sun. After spending two and a half to three hours waiting we finally got our tickets. By that time the heat had drained everyone’s energy so we all trudged back to the car and went home.

I wasn’t able to go on Friday because of work, but Saturday I drove the same group of people back to the con. It was a great day full of many pictures and awesome cosplays. There was even a League meet up! We all spend so much time taking pictures and having pictures taken of us that we didn’t even get into the exhibition hall. Here’s a shout out to the random guy who recognized my costume from this blog! Glad to know someone’s reading!

Day four, the last day, was terrible. We left early again with only my sister in costume. Everyone seemed really tired and remained that way for the entire day. We spent the day in the exhibit hall and artist alley and took a few pictures here and there of the few cosplays we ran into. It was pretty crowded and made moving around difficult, but there wasn’t much to see besides the usual convention paraphernalia. The artist alley was full of many amazing artists, but nothing caught my eye enough to buy and take up the dwindling space left of my bedroom walls.

Over the next few days I’ll be compiling a collection of my favorite cosplay pictures I took from the convention. In a separate post I’ll show off my Thresh costume, finally complete!

Here’s a little preview (Picture taken by Casey Kwock)

1004455_10101851751986031_651946747_n

Published by:

Frekki

My name is Jessica Schultz and I'm a fun loving gamer with a passion for art, costuming, writing, and all things nerdy. During the week I am a game artist, and during the weekends I try to keep up with my costuming and writing. I always have a cosplay project to keep me busy until the next convention. I love helping other artists so if you have any questions at all feel free to ask!

Tags , , , 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Anime Expo 2013 Recap”

Leave a Reply

