Thresh Scythe (with a wee bit of coat and some skulls)

Ah yes, the scythe. Like the lantern, it all starts with some cardboard. The process is very similar to the lantern, just a different shape. This is how I make most props.

DSCN7664

Oh, and here are some chain pieces. They have wires glued to the ends to attach them.

DSCN7656

Cover that with expanding foam!

DSCN7716

Then carve it into a nice shape.

DSCN7730Cover with tape.

DSCN7731

After the tape comes a layer of paper mache and paperclay. Use the paper clay to add in the details. You can sand paper clay, but I try to get it as smooth as possible before it dries. I’ve found the cosplay community has an obsession with sanding things.

DSCN7830

Once it’s all nice and pretty its time to make it even more nice and pretty. WITH PAINT. (Don’t forget the protective coat of matte clear spray paint).

DSCN7873Done.

And now a sneak peek at the coat!

This is the pattern…

DSCN7815And this is the product…

DSCN7816

This will be the general base. The collar needs adjusting and all the funn skulls and bones need to be attached. Speaking of which… let’s go over how to make those skulls he wears at his hips.

Plastic mask.

DSCN7706

All cut out.

DSCN7710Glued.

DSCN7713

(Scary, huh?)

Foam (like the stuff used in seat cushions).

DSCN7707Cut and formed.

DSCN7708

Now here’s where I went a little crazy and just covered those foam horns in big gloppy layers of hotglue.

DSCN7711

Glue those onto the mask base and bring out the paperclay. Cover it all in the clay and mold it into something nice. It’s the same technique as the mask. Paint it!

DSCN7732

My paints came out a little lighter than I would have liked but I don’t have time to redo it just yet!!

The final details…

Celophane.

DSCN7733Wire.

DSCN7735DONE.

DSCN7737

I hope you enjoyed this super rushed post!! Feel free to message me with questions.

Published by:

Frekki

My name is Jessica Schultz and I'm a fun loving gamer with a passion for art, costuming, writing, and all things nerdy. During the week I am a game artist, and during the weekends I try to keep up with my costuming and writing. I always have a cosplay project to keep me busy until the next convention. I love helping other artists so if you have any questions at all feel free to ask!

Tags , , , , , , , , 21 Comments

21 thoughts on “Thresh Scythe (with a wee bit of coat and some skulls)”

    1. Ah, I probably forgot to cover that when I wrote up the post since I was rushing. It’s there to support the weight of the chains and the attached scythe and lantern.

      1. I thought so, but wasn’t so sure.

        Unrelated question time: how much wonderflex did you have to use on this entire costume?

  1. Had another question about the coat this time, did you make that yourself, or did you buy it somewhere?

    If you bought it, any chance you could show me a link?

    If you made it, could you tell me where to find a sewing pattern I can follow?

    Thanks so much!

    1. I made it based on a pattern by Simplicity. I made the coat by the instructions included with the pattern and once it was done I went back and modified it. The modifications included shortening the sleeves (so they’d fit inside the gloves I made), cutting up the bottom hem to make it tattered, and of course creating a new collar to give it that cool cut that Thresh’s has.

      I bought the pattern at my local Joann’s fabric store. Simplicity is a great brand because, like the name implies, they make simplified and easy to work with patterns. I highly recommend them for any project! Great for people who don’t have much experience sewing, like me!!
      I think most fabric stores should carry these patterns. The only thing is, the one I used is made for women. (Not sure if that’s relevant to you or not but it’s worth mentioning).

      Here’s the name of the pattern: 1732 Misses’ Costume Coat
      And if this link works it can be found here: http://www.simplicity.com/p-8205-misses-costume-coat.aspx

      1. I’m not a girl, but the way I figure it, if it fits, it fits. Thanks again for replying! It’s a really big help!

      2. Had another couple of questions if you don’t mind!

        How did you get all the bonework to stick onto the coat? And how did you make the bonework for the coat?

      3. The bone work on the coat started out as cardboard cut outs for the basic shape. To give it some bulk I added expanding foam to one side. When the foam was dry I used a blade to cut it down, smooth it out a bit, and make it thinner. It was maybe half an inch thick at that point. From there I covered it in masking tape (because some of the foam had air pockets and left deep crevices). And finally that was covered in paperclay to give it a better surface to paint on. I painted the bones with normal acrylic paint and used a clear matte spray paint to seal it all in. The bones are just glued onto the coat with hot glue. Oh, also for the smaller bones up around the collar I skipped the foam part and used paperclay directly on top of cardboard because those pieces didn’t need the bulk that the larger ones have. Hope this helps! Be sure to send pictures when you are all done!! :D

      4. Hi :) can i ask u from which material u did ur coat ? (sorry for english lvl asian :( )

      5. It’s been a while since I bought the fabric so I can’t tell you specifically where I got it from but if you do an internet search for “Blue canvas fabric” you should get some good results. Look for something pretty thick, but not too stiff. You want it to drape well. Hope this helps!

  2. I’ve got a question about the pattern,

    I bought this pattern and got the printable version. It came in a pdf about 150 pages long. Is this normal? 150 standard pages for a single pattern?

    1. I am not sure since I have never bought a printable pattern like that. It’s been a long time since I looked at the pattern but I know it came with at least four or five giant sheets a few feet in length. They have more than one size pattern on them so not all the sheets were used. Assuming you tape normal printer papers together to create the large sheets that come in the store version, 150 sounds plausible.

      1. One more request,

        do you have the instructions for that pattern? For the printable pattern i bought, I couldn’t find one. You’d be a lifesaver if I could have a scanned copy of the instructions for this coat.

      2. Hey, I found the pattern! Sorry, my con is next weekend that i want to debut my thresh cosplay, and I’m in full panic mode. (haven’t completed a single piece yet. I’ll be sure to send pics when i’m done!

  3. Hello! First off, this entire collection of posts has been an incredibly helpful guide to making my Thresh cosplay. Thanks so much for making it.

    Secondly, I had one small question: How did you affix the hip skulls to the coat? The simplest way I can think of is hot-gluing the edges and that doesn’t seem like the most durable idea.

    1. Hi there! So sorry for the late reply, for some reason I stopped getting emails when people comment! The skulls are attached to the coat with velcro, that way they are completely detachable and also move easily when I move. I have a loop of velcro on the side of the coat that attached to a strip of matching velcro on the inside of the skull.

Leave a Reply

