Thresh Lantern

Alright, it’s beenn quiet on my blog for a few weeks now but that doesn’t mean I havn’t been busy! With a new full time job it’s been getting harder and harder to find time to work on my personal projects. Anyway, let’s take a look at Thresh’s lantern. It doesn’t light up like I’d have hoped but again, time has been an issue. Maybe in the future.

It all starts with a bit of cardboard…

DSCN7649Then some hotglue…

DSCN7651

Add some supports along the edges…

DSCN7653

And POOF! Lantern! Or at least the bare bones of one.

DSCN7654

I ended up making the bottom flat without those points because throughout the rest of the process they got dented and smashed and were an overall pain to deal with. I don’t have pictures of the next two steps but basically cover the thing with expanding foam. The support beams can be a guide for where to cut. After the foam has been used to give some shape to the bones, cover it all in paper mache. Strips of paper + some watered down glue will do the job.

Here’s the darn thing covered in a very thin layer of Paperclay…

DSCN7831

And here it is painted! Again, I lost some of the steps but the “glass” is made of shrinky dink paper cut in jagged triangles, sprayed with spray adhesive, then covered with green celephane (the same stuff used on the mask.

DSCN7871

Published by:

Frekki

My name is Jessica Schultz and I'm a fun loving gamer with a passion for art, costuming, writing, and all things nerdy. During the week I am a game artist, and during the weekends I try to keep up with my costuming and writing. I always have a cosplay project to keep me busy until the next convention. I love helping other artists so if you have any questions at all feel free to ask!

Tags , , , , , 7 Comments

7 thoughts on “Thresh Lantern”

  1. Hey i loved your cosplay xD. Im making my own thresh costume. You did such a wonderful job on the weapon and since the rest of your outfit wouldnt fir me. Would you mind selling your lantern and scythe piece?

    1. I’m sorry, but I plan to reuse them for a future convention. I can help you with construction tips and stuff though! If you have any questions what so ever I’d be more than happy to answer.
      And thanks, I am glad you liked the cosplay :)

      1. Hi iam making thresh cosplay too, it will be first thresh cosplay in CZECH REPUBLIC but idk how u did your coat :/ if you can please tell mi how .. tnx :)

      2. I covered some of my coat progress here> https://frekki.wordpress.com/2013/07/01/thresh-scythe-with-a-wee-bit-of-coat-and-some-skulls/
        But to sum it up, I bought a basic long trench coat looking pattern and sewed it according to the direction. Once that was finished I cut the tail coats to look more ragged like Thresh’s. The bone detail bits are made from cardboard cut into shape and covered with Paperclay to give them some thickness. Those were painted and glued down with a hot glue gun. Further down the page I show how I make the two skulls that hang on his side. If you have any specific questions, ask away! I’m happy to help :)

  2. Hey there,
    I was wondering how you put expanding foam on your lantern and it didn’t go inside through the windows and top.
    With my experience expanding foam just flows everywhere and sticks to everything.
    Same for the bones did you put down some foam and then place the cardboard cutout into it and then another layer of expanding foam.
    Thanks ^.^

    1. The foam did go everyone haha! I wish I had some pictures of how it looked with the foam, it was very silly. Basically I tilted the lantern onto one side and put the expanding foam on the outside. I let that dry to the point that it wouldn’t run or fall off the form, then rotated the lantern onto another side and repeated the process until all four sides had ample amounts of foam on them. After it was all dry, I used a serrated knife to carve away the shape. The inside was pretty clean except for a stray drip or two which was easy enough to peel off. As for the bones I put the cardboard flat on some newspaper and sprayed some of the foam on it. When that was dry I turned it over and did the other side. Hope that helps!
      Oh also, its very important to lay down TONS of newspaper, cause like you said it goes everywhere and sticks to everything. The newspaper also stuck to the lantern, but when the foam is dry you can just peel it off.

Leave a Reply

