Thresh- Gloves

After the mask I decided to work on the gloves. For these I needed just a few basic supplies:

Wonderflex (jumbo)- $67.00

Black gloves- $8.00

Heatgun

Paint/paint brushes

Gluegun/gluesticks

Scissors

Elastic scraps

Okay! Once all the supplies were gathered I did some research on gauntlet and glove patterns. I tried a few different techniques to get the finger joints to bend properly but in the end I decided to make each finger plate separate. Below are some preliminary attempts. In the bottom right corner are the actual patterns I used, just resized for each finger. The tear drop is the claw while the other wobbly shape makes up the other fingerplates.

It’s worth noting that at first I tried to use styrene because it was cheaper and came recommended  but in the end I went with wonderflex. It might be way more expensive but I like the way it bends better and the fact that it sticks to itself when warm makes it easier to work with.

DSCN7570

Using the heatgun, I heated the wonderflex to a warm but not burning temperature. Two layers of wonderflex works best, that way its sturdy but not too thick. Wearing the black gloves I wrapped each piece around my finger and reinforced the bottom of each peice with an extra strip of wonderflex. To add some random flare, I pushed up the front edge and formed it to a point.

DSCN7571

DSCN7573

After all the finger pieces were done it came out looking like this:

DSCN7575

The fingerplates might require some trimming to make sure they bend properly under the other plates:

DSCN7574

The palm piece was pretty hard to figure out. Most of the sites that claimed to have automail or gauntlet patterns were out of date or the pictures didn’t work. So I just sorta made up the shapes. The right top piece is the knuckle plate, below that covers the hand, and the last piece is for the palm. With the wonderflex warm I added some warble to the knuckle plate ’cause it looked cool! All of this was formed over my hand. It’s not hard to do but if you try this just make sure not to heat up the wonderflex too hot and wear gloves!

DSCN7585

DSCN7586

Added some more details:

DSCN7587

Also put on some elastic so the wrist parts stay in place:

DSCN7588

Now for the wrist. The shape is easy enough:

DSCN7589

I cut out two of those shapes for each arm and formed them directly over my wrist. I pressed the edges together so that it was stuck on my arm. I couldn’t pull my hand out so I cut it right up the middle when the wonderflex was completely cool. That way I can slip my arm into it but it keeps its shape without revealing the open seam.

DSCN7590

Here’s it all together (unpainted).

DSCN7597

DSCN7598

Time for painting! Yay! This is what can really make or break the armor. Never use one flat color, always try to paint in highlights and low lights. Once it was all painted I coated it all with matte clear spray paint then using hotglue I stuck on all the fingerplates to the glove.

DSCN7600Done!

DSCN7602

Published by:

Frekki

My name is Jessica Schultz and I'm a fun loving gamer with a passion for art, costuming, writing, and all things nerdy. During the week I am a game artist, and during the weekends I try to keep up with my costuming and writing. I always have a cosplay project to keep me busy until the next convention. I love helping other artists so if you have any questions at all feel free to ask!

Tags , , , , , 9 Comments

9 thoughts on “Thresh- Gloves”

  1. I am planing on doing a thresh cosplay as well though I am going to 3d print most of my armor parts along with the chains and other goodies. most likely use the foam trick on the scythe and coat bits to let me get some flex out of it. I am also going to print all of it in the glow in the dark PLA and paint over it so that when I do go into a dark place it will give that creepy look! I will keep watching this though it looks like it is going to turn out really well!!!

  2. You mention painting in highlights and lowlights; how do you do that? Are you using spray paints of painting by hand? And how are you creating those effects?

    No doubt it yields better looking results, which is why I want to know how to do it.

    1. I am painting by hand using Basic Acrylic paint. It’s a good quality and relatively inexpensive brand. When I paint I start with a nice soft brush and paint a few layers for a base coat. After that is dry I find a smaller brush for the details of the highlights and low lights. Say the color I used as the base was a light green (blue paint+yellow paint+white), like it is for the gloves. To make a darker color I wouldn’t add black because that would muddy it up. Instead I would add more blue and more yellow until it was a darker shade of green. I’d paint these as the low lights, usually around the edges or where two pieces meet. For the hightlights you can just add white to the base paint to get a lighter color. I like to paint those at the high points of the project so any ridges or bumps or raises.
      I hope this helps to better explain it! Don’t hesitate to ask any further questions if you have any :)

      1. That totally makes sense in terms of the highlighting and lowlighting! On an unrelated question, is it possible to do this type of armour making with styrene? I can’t afford wonderflex, and was wondering if styrene can be molded like this.

      2. Well I don’t have much experience with Styrene but I did buy two sheets of it thinking that I could use it for armor. Sadly through it doesn’t work nearly as well as wonderflex. I had a hard time heating it and trying to get it to form. Since its plastic it’s also prone to cracking if you bend it to a crease. It doesn’t stick to itself so you’d have to use glue, which can leave residue. Styrene also doesn’t curve on more than one axis. Even though wonderflex is pricey it’s definitely my recommendation!! It’s so much easier to work with, sticks to itself, can make complex curves, and is overall just cleaner looking.

    1. I didn’t really use a specific pattern. I did some research and looked up a few ways that other people had done similar things and based mine on that. Sadly, I didn’t save the links to the pictures I used for inspiration, but searching for automail patterns (like Edward Elric’s arm from Full Metal Alchemist) will yield some pretty good results! The fingers shouldn’t be too hard to figure out, but the part covering the hand can get a little tricky. If you have any other questions, let me know!

Leave a Reply

