Quest Accepted!

And so I begin my quest to make a new costume for my boytoy Alex, Deathwing in Human form! And all you lucky viewers get to watch the progress. I hope you find inspiration in my fails and triumphs as well as ideas for your own costumes.

I couldn’t get my own screenshot of him, since I don’t think Deathwing would really want to pose with a silly undead warlock. So here’s an image stolen from a google search (http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/requests-341/deathwing-human-form-188420/) :

For some reason I usually start out my costumes with the bracers. I guess it sort of gives me a feel for what sort of theme and look I want to see in the final costume.

As usual it begins with foam. Such a forgiving, cheap, and lovely material. It all starts with a shape like this cut from the thick craft foam. Little pieces can be glued to the side if one sheet isn’t big enough. When rolled up it should fit easily on your arm, not too tight, not too loose. Alexstrazsa’s bracers slip on and off, but there are going to stretch ever so slightly. The shape needs to be duplicated on wonderflex though slightly larger so the edges can cover the foam.

The wonderflex can be heated with a simple hairdryer (though it gets pretty loud) and then draped over the foam, folded over the edges, and then rolled into shape. You can see it’s got a little ripple in it, but since I am covering it with fabric, I decided not to smooth it out. No worries, if you make a mistake with wonderflex all you have to do is reheat it and reshape. Easy!

Too keep it nicely in shape I held it together with rubberbands while the wonderflex cooled.

The bracers were covered with a nice leather-like fabric i found in the remnants pile at my local Jo-anns fabric store. I didn’t know it at the time, but this fabric HATES hot glue (or any glue). But I’ll cover that later. The back side of the fabric took the glue just fine and it was simple to cover the bracers with it. Using some fabric 3D raised paint I added some details over the fabric

To give the bracers some stretch I glued a small piece of elaastic to the inside, making sure that it was relatively taut but with room to still stretch. The elastic edges were glued down to make sure it didn’t come undone. (Something I get paranoid about).

Using the usual fabric over foam technique I made a small insert for the top of the bracers as seen below. I also painted the fabric with cheap acrylic and added a few cut peices of shiny red paper. I like the effect it gives. It shines in the light and looks sort of molten. Gluing the straps was where I encountered my first issue. The glue didn’t want to stick to the fabric! It peeled right off. I was worried that I’d have to redo the bracers with a more glue friendly fabric. But then i solved my problem with… MORE GLUE. That’s right. When at first you don’t suceed try again. And this time use more glue. But be sure it doesn’t drip!

Lastly, its time for the spikes. I hear cosplayers rave about model magic. True, I liked the stuff when I was little. Its very light and very clean. No mess what so ever. Not even greasy residue that some clays leave behind on your hands. But it takes forever to dry, it can’t be smoothed out like most clays, and it’s prone to cracking. Still, it’s what I used as a base for the spines.

I hope you all appreciate the wonders of hot glue. I used a massive amount to glue down the spikes, then coated the edges with more glue. And finnally, just for giggles, I smeared glue all over the spines.

Okay, so I coated the spines with glue for more than just fun. It gives them a really cool texture and also strengthens them against breaking.

Once they are painted all nice and pretty the bracers are done!!

Published by:

Frekki

My name is Jessica Schultz and I'm a fun loving gamer with a passion for art, costuming, writing, and all things nerdy. During the week I am a game artist, and during the weekends I try to keep up with my costuming and writing. I always have a cosplay project to keep me busy until the next convention. I love helping other artists so if you have any questions at all feel free to ask!

Tags , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

