Renaissance Faire: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly (and The Cliches!)

The Good:

From Left to Right: Roseanne, Sean, Alex, Micheal, Jenny

Me, Alex, Roseanne, and Sean in costume:

Today I attended my first Ren Faire. It was pretty much everything I was expecting it to be. The weather was uncommonly nice, warm with a slight breeze. After a confusing start to the day we finally got all our party members sorted out into cars and arrived just around noon, staying until seven. I wanted to test out my tiefling attire, but I worried that the horns I made would be too off balance for me to wear comfortably and without fear of them falling off. Considering we spent most of the day looking around and being bumped into, I think it was a pretty good decision. My horns are not heavy, but they do protrude out to the side quite a bit and the fabric that hangs from them drags on the ground. I didn’t get around to trimming it. Instead I threw together a quick outfit of assorted pieces. This is where the ugly comes in.

The Ugly:

I usually hate (with a passion) bought costumes, save for small details and accessories. Everything about this costume was bought and pieced together and the effect was not as nice as I would have wanted. Here’s a rundown of the costume:

The wig  was an old one I bought and used on a whim for a photoshoot. It’s rather… fluffy. I don’t have a place to store wigs, so they all get thrown as nicely as I can into a nice big drawer. They get tangled easily there. This is my oldest wig and also my most damaged.

The ears were a gift from my friend Micheal Allar. I do love the faun ears!

The top is a sequined bra from amazon.com, costing about $20.00 if I remember. It’s a good buy for the price, but it’s not amazing.

The skirt is also from amazon, around the same price. I love this skirt to death. It flows nicely and is made from beautiful fabric. My only qualm is that I ordered a red one, and received a rather red-orangey color. In the world of costume that slight color change makes a huge difference.

The wrap is a cheap one (again from amazon!). It jingles when I walk. Again, it was a good deal for the price. Unfortunately the one size fits all didn’t apply to me and I have to pin it in three places for it not to fall off.

Shoes were from Payless and originally I had bought them to go with my Scarlet outfit.

The bracelets were a sale item from the craft store, Micheals.

All in all, the quick costume was inexpensive, but showed in the quality. It was fun to wear, but I am not happy with the way it all fit together.

The Bad:

Well one bad thing was one of my companions was put in a very bad mood almost as soon as we got there because an unruly patron whipped her on the bum. I didn’t see it happen, but I sure heard all about it in the aftermath. I personlly wouldn’t have found it to be a big deal, especially since her attire sort of attracts that kind of attention but it upset her and other faire goers should know better than to touch another person without permission. Another bad thing; the prices. No one goes to a convention or fair thinking they are gonna escape with some great deal. No, everyone knows that the prices are steep. I just didn’t realize how steep. I wasn’t palnning on buying anything anyway, but some of my freinds were sorely disappointed to find out they couldn’t afford more than one pretty shirt or hairband. The food was also on the bland side, but again, this isn’t the place to be looking for gourmet meals. Finally, I had a sore throat so everytime I swallowed, yawned, or hiccuped, it felt like my throat was being ripped apart. Oh, and there was no free water there. This made me very very sad, and very very thirsty.

Another thing I really hate is the be heckled by vendors trying to sell their products. I’m a very shy person but if someone starts talking to me I feel obligated to listen. I end up staying there for long periods of time while they do their sales pitch. On the rare occasions that I try to tell them I am not interested, they usually keep talking anyway. This wastes their time as well as mine. It was pretty bad at the faire, I had a hard time getting away from a few of the booths when all I wanted to do was browse in peace.

The Cliche:

First off, this entry’s title! Secondly, as I said before,  I hate store bought costumes. I think they usually look cheap, tacky, and bland, and are over all disappointing. I saw quite a few there. But I also saw many homemade costumes that were astounding. Many of the stands had the same types of products, I only found real interest in the handmade stuff, and out of the ordinary vendors.

Also… Enjoy the goslings!

Published by:

Frekki

My name is Jessica Schultz and I'm a fun loving gamer with a passion for art, costuming, writing, and all things nerdy. During the week I am a game artist, and during the weekends I try to keep up with my costuming and writing. I always have a cosplay project to keep me busy until the next convention. I love helping other artists so if you have any questions at all feel free to ask!

Tags , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

